हिन्दी (Hindi)

Sunil Gavaskar points out the reason behind Sanju Samson’s inconsistent performances

By BetBarter Staff

June 21, 2022

Sanju Samson has been given another chance to represent India in the upcoming T20I series against Ireland. The Hardik Pandya-led team will play two matches in Dublin on the 26th and the 28th of June. The wicket-keeper has gotten a few chances to play for the national side, but inconsistent performances meant that he hasn’t been a mainstay in the team.

With wicketkeeper-batters like Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, and veteran Dinesh Karthik doing well, Samson’s path to the 20-20 World Cup selection will be difficult. So far, the 27-year-old has appeared in one ODI and 13 T20Is for India, scoring 46 and 174 runs, respectively.

Former Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar believes that he has great potential, but his shot selection while playing for India has let him down. He needs to take his time to get going at the highest level of the game, said the veteran cricketer.

“Everybody deserves more chance but you got to make the most of them. What has led Sanju Samson down, because all of us know the tremendous ability that he has, is his shot selection while playing for India. He looks to attack from the first ball and even in T20Is, there is an opportunity to get your feet going, get your eye…you know with the light and pitch, etc,” Gavaskar said on Star Sports.

According to the 1983 World Cup-winning player, Samson could become a permanent member of India’s team if he improves his shot selection.

“So, yes, if his shot selection gets better then he will be so much more consistent whether it is for India or for his franchise. Then there will be nobody asking questions about his place in the team,” he added.

India’s T20I squad for Ireland T20Is

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik