हिन्दी (Hindi)

Team India records highest successful run chase at the Gabba

By Bet Barter

January 19, 2021

India defeated Australia by three wickets on Day 5 of the fourth and final Test at the Brisbane Cricket Ground. The visitors have retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with the historic win at Brisbane. India's wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant smashed an unbeaten 89 runs off 138 deliveries to help the side seize the victory. The youngster's heroic innings consisted of nine boundaries and a six. The visitors who had a slow start losing an early wicket of Rohit Sharma, bounced back stronger.

After Rohit's dismissal, young batsman Shubman Gill played an excellent inning of 91. His knock consisted of eight boundaries and two sixes. Gill was supported by Cheteshwar Pujara, who scored a half-century. Pujara faced 211 balls in his entire innings. This is so far his slowest half-century in the most extended format. The middle-order batsman confronted several blows to the body and hands but still stood firm in the middle.

India's stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane and debutant all-rounder Washington Sundar also added crucial contributions to India's scoreboard. Pat Cummins was once again the star bowler for the hosts as he picked up four crucial wickets. Off-spinner Nathan Lyon also scalped two wickets in his 100th Test match.

West Indies were the last team to defeat Australia at Brisbane in 1988

The Indian cricket team scripted history by chasing down 328 on Day 5 of the Gabba Test. The Indian squad quickly tracked the chase that looked quite difficult. The men in blue won the match by three wickets.

The previous record for the highest chase at the Brisbane Cricket Ground was by the Australian team. The Australian team chased down 236 against West Indies back in 1951. Arthur Morris, Neil Harvey and Graeme Hole all contributed with 40 runs to grab the victory. They won the match by three wickets. Australia's defeat in the Border-Gavaskar series against India also ended their unbeaten record at The Gabba. It was the West Indies team who last defeated the Australians at Brisbane in 1988.

West Indies dominated the hosts by nine wickets in that Test. Curtly Ambrose claimed three wickets in both innings and was declared the Man of the Match for his brilliant performance. The highest run that India have chased at the iconic stadium was 355, back in 1968. Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi was leading the team that lost the match by 39 runs.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!