हिन्दी (Hindi)

The second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) to begin on July 30

By Bet Barter

May 13, 2021

Sri Lanka Cricket Board has disclosed that the second season of the Lanka Premier League will be conducted in the upcoming months. The tournament is going to take place from July 30 to August 22 this year. The maiden season of the LPL was conducted last year from November 26 to December 16. Jaffna Stallions emerged as champions of the inaugural season. The tournament was eventually going to commence in August 2020. However, it had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The first edition of the LPL was held at the MRICS, Hambantota. The tournament had witnessed the participation of five teams. Sri Lanka's top domestic T20 league had various International players participating in the league. The first season of the league was held in a successful bio-bubble environment. This year, the SLC will assess the country's COVID-19 situation and take preventive measures before conducting the event in the country. The board will discuss with the Ministry of Health before taking a final call on the competition.

Jaffna Stallions won the inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League

Jaffna Stallions won the inaugural edition of the tournament as the team defeated Galle Gladiators in the final match on December 16. Thisara Perera led-side defeated Galle Gladiators by 53 runs in a one-sided final. Batting first, the Jaffna Stallions put up a massive score of 188 for 6 and then restricted Galle Gladiators to 138 for 9. LPL 2020 featured former Indian players like Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, and Manpreet Gony. Five teams took part in the T20 league. This includes Colombo Kings, Dambulla Viiking, Jaffna Stallions, Galle Gladiators, and Kandy Tuskers. As a safety measure, all 23 matches of LPL 2020 were at the same venue - the MRIC Stadium in Hambantota.

Veteran Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik was the Man of the Match for the final match for his all-round brilliance. Malik scored 46 runs and picked up two wickets. On the other hand, Wanindu Hasaranga was the Player of the Series for picking 17 wickets in 10 games at a strike rate of 13 and an economy rate of 5.18. Galle Gladiators' Danushka Gunathilaka scored the highest runs in the tournament. He amassed 476 runs from 10 matches, whereas Jaffna Stallions' Wanindu Hasaranga took the most wickets (17).

READ MORE Cricket articles here!