हिन्दी (Hindi)

Top 3 prospects for RCB in the IPL next season

By Bet Barter

May 6, 2021

RCB had a really brilliant outing in the IPL this year. In the suspended IPL 2021, RCB played 7 matches in total. Out of 7 matches this season, the Bengaluru franchise won 5 and lost 2. RCB was one of the favorites to qualify for the IPL playoffs this year. Quite a few talented Indian players had a fantastic campaign with RCB this year. That said, here are 3 Indian players whom RCB would want to retain in the IPL next season:

1. Devdutt Padikkal

The 20-year-old was RCB’s highest run-getter in the IPL last year. In 15 matches, Devdutt Padikkal smacked an impressive 473 runs in IPL 2020. The RCB opener also looked in fine touch with the bat in IPL 2021. In 6 matches in IPL 2021, Padikkal amassed 195 runs in total, including a season-best score of 101 not out. Padikkal’s knock of 101 against RR in the 16th match of IPL 2021 was his maiden IPL century. Clearly, RCB will want to retain Devdutt Padikkal in the next season of the IPL.

2. Yuzvendra Chahal

At no 2 in this list is Indian spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. The 30-year-old did not have the best time with RCB in the IPL this year. In 7 matches in IPL 2021, Chahal managed to scalp only 4 wickets in total. However, the spinner has been a key player on the RCB side for quite some time. Chahal boasts an impressive bowling record in his IPL career. In 106 matches, Chahal has scalped an impressive 125 wickets in total. Furthermore, his bowling economy of 7.70 in the IPL clearly highlights his effectiveness with the ball. RCB will back Chahal to find form in the next season of the IPL.

3. Mohammed Siraj

Another important Indian cricketer for RCB is 27 years old Mohammed Siraj. The pace bowler spearheaded RCB’s bowling lineup alongside Kyle Jamieson and Harshal Patel in IPL 2021. In 7 matches in IPL 2021, Siraj scalped 6 wickets for RCB. Moreover, Siraj maintained a fantastic bowling economy of 7.34 in the IPL this year. Mohammed Siraj will be a player that RCB will look to retain in the next season of the IPL.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!