Top 10 longest sixes in Indian T20 League history, Liam Livingstone joins elite list

By BetBarter Staff

May 4, 2022

The game between Punjab and Gujarat on Tuesday witnessed some monstrous hitting by Liam Livingstone towards the end. The English batter hit 28 runs in the 16th over to take Punjab over the line, including a monstrous 117 meter long six. The six was the longest six of the season. Not just this, Livingstone also entered the list of 10 longest sixes in the tournament’s history.

Everyone, including the bowler, Mohammad Shami, was taken aback by Livingstone’s hit. After the ball was launched into the top stand of the DY Patil Stadium, Shami was spotted smiling. Punjab skipper, Mayank Agarwal, was also seen jumping out of his chair.

While Livingstone has four of the top ten longest sixes this season, he now has a name in the top ten longest sixes in tournament history.

Albie Morkel has the longest six of the tournament when he played for Chennai in 2008. Morkel struck a spectacular 125-meter six against Pragyan Ojha in a game against the now-defunct Deccan team. Surprisingly, the second-longest six belongs to Praveen Kumar (124 m), when he played for Bangalore in 2011. The likes of Adam Gilchrist, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh and Chris Gayle also feature in the list.

Coming back to the match between Punjab and Gujarat, the Hardik Pandya-led team could not make an impact with the bat. They managed to set a target of 144 in the match. Shikhar Dhawan (62 runs), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (40 runs), and Liam Livingstone (30 runs)  guided the team to an eight-wicket win.

Longest sixes in Indian T20 League history

Player Six Distance (in Meters) Year
Albie Morkel 125 2008
Praveen Kumar 124 2011
Adam Gilchrist 122 2011
Robin Uthappa 120 2010
Chris Gayle 119 2013
Yuvraj Singh 119 2009
Ross Taylor 119 2008
Ben Cutting 117 2016
Gautam Gambhir 117 2013
Liam Livingstone 117 2022