हिन्दी (Hindi)
English

Twitter in disbelief after third umpire gives Kohli out despite replays showing ball might have hit the bat

By BetBarter Staff

December 3, 2021

India skipper Virat Kohli made a comeback to the Indian team in the second Test against New Zealand. Kohli was on a break and skipped the preceding T20I series and the first Test. The skipper was expected to play a decent knock, however, he was dismissed for a four-ball duck.

Kohli was adjudged LBW. The batter was in disbelief as he was sure that the ball has hit the bat before. He decided to challenge the decision. The replays showed that the ball might have kissed the bat before hitting the pad. However, they were not very conclusive. The third umpire thus stood with the on-field call of out. Kohli was fuming after the call and left the ground frustrated.

Meanwhile, the fans also felt that Kohli had hit the ball.

Earlier, India made three changes to their team. Kohli, Jayant Yadav and Mohammed Siraj replaced Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja and Ishant Sharma, who were out due to injuries. Meanwhile, New Zealand also made one change as Daryl Mitchell replaced Kane Williamson, who was ruled out due to a elbow injury.

India won the toss and opted to bat. After a solid opening stand of 80 runs, India lost Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli in quick succession. Mayank Agarwal and Shreyas Iyer since then have stabilised the inning.