हिन्दी (Hindi)

Twitter Reactions: Mohsin Khan, Dushmantha Chameera rattle Punjab as Lucknow boosts playoffs hopes

By BetBarter Staff

April 29, 2022

Punjab met Lucknow in the 42nd encounter of the Indian T20 League 2022. Winning the toss, Mayank Agarwal decided to bowl first at the MCA Stadium. KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock were looking for a stable start on a tricky wicket. Rahul(six), however, lost his wicket early on. Kagiso Rabada got the breakthrough in the third over. Deepak Hooda and De Kock then took charge and added 85 runs for the second wicket. De Kock (46) lost his wicket to Sandeep Sharma in the 13th over of the game, at a team score of 98. Post this, it all went downhill for the men in turquoise. Hooda (34) was involved in a sloppy runout in the 14th over. Rabada took two wickets in the next over to reduce Lucknow to 109 for five. He took the wickets of Krunal Pandya (seven) and Ayush Badoni (four).

Three more wickets fell in little time for the KL Rahul-led team. Rahul Chahar got Marcus Stoinis (one) in the 16th over and Jason Holder (11) in the 18th over. Rabada completed his four-wicket haul with Dushmantha Chameera's (17) wicket in the 19th over. Mohsin Khan (13) then played a couple of good shots to help Lucknow reach 153 in their 20 overs.

Punjab had a similar start in the chase, with Mayank Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan taking their time to settle in. However, Agarwal (25) was knocked out in the fifth over. Dhawan (five) followed him soon after the powerplay. Bishnoi got him in the seventh over for a team score of 46. Pandya then struck Bhanuka Rajapaksa (nine) in the eight over to reduce Punjab t0 58-3. Liam Livingstone and Jonny Bairstow had a huge responsibility to take the team through.

They added 30 runs on the board before Livingstone (18) played a sloppy shot to lose his wicket to Mohsin Khan in the 13th over, at a team score of 88. With the wickets of Jitesh Sharma (two) and Bairstow (32), the hopes of Punjab were also buried. Eventually, the team fell short by 20 runs after being reduced to 133-8. Mohsin Khan took three wickets in the game, Chameera and Pandya each took two each, while Bishnoi took one. Lucknow won their sixth match of the season and moved to third place in points table.

Here are the top tweets of the game