हिन्दी (Hindi)

Twitter Reactions: Unstoppable Gujarat hand Kolkata fourth consecutive defeat

By BetBarter Staff

April 23, 2022

The 35th game of the Indian T20 league 2022 saw Gujarat beat Kolkata by eight runs in an absolute thriller. They won the toss and elected to bat first and thus, broke the pattern of captains winning the toss and choosing to bowl first. They did not have the finest start as they lost Shubman Gill (seven) early on. It was Tim Southee who made an early breakthrough in just the second over. Wriddhiman Saha and Hardik Pandya had an effective partnership during the powerplay. In the first six overs, Gujarat scored 47 runs. They added 75 runs before Saha (25) was sent back. Umesh Yadav took the wicket in the 11th over of the first innings.

David Miller then joined Pandya and started scoring from ball one. He got lucky on his first ball as Venkatesh Iyer caught him only for the all-rounder to step over the boundary line to concede a six. In the meantime, Pandya reached his half-century. Miller (27) was finally dismissed by Shivam Mavi in the 17th over. Gujarat's scorecard read 133/3 in 16.2. Southee's two wickets in the 18th over then turned the game in Kolkata's favour. He got the wickets of Pandya and Rashid Khan. The Gujarat skipper scored 67 runs in 49 balls, with four fours and two sixes.

Andre Russell bowled his first over during the 20th over, and he was simply sensational. The West Indian took four wickets in the over and conceded just five runs. He took the wickets of Abhinav Manohar, Lockie Ferguson, Rahul Tewatia, and Yash Dayal. He restricted Gujarat to just 156 runs in the first innings.

After a good bowling performance, Kolkata had the worst possible start. They lost early wickets and were under a lot of pressure. Mohammed Shami got the first wicket in his first over itself as he got rid of Sam Billings (four). His opening partner, Sunil Narine (five), also departed in the third over as Shami got his second wicket. The two-time champions lost yet another wicket in the fifth over. Yash Dayal got Nitish Rana (two), and Kolkata reached 34 in the powerplay.

Shreyas Iyer played some eye-pleasing shots but couldn't last too long. Yash Dayal got his wicket in the seventh over of the game. Rinku Singh and Venkatesh Iyer tried to build a good partnership and played carefully. However, Singh (35) was dismissed in the 13th over. Dayal dismissed him, and half of the side were sent back for a score of 79. Venkatesh Iyer (17) also departed soon as Rashid Khan took his wicket in the 14th over.

Andre Russell then hit some powerful shots. In the meantime, Shivam Mavi (two) lost his wicket to Rashid Khan in the 16th over. Umesh Yadav joined Russel and gave him all the support. However, Russell (48) fell just short as Alzarri Joseph took his wicket in the final over, with 12 runs needed in four balls. Joseph conceded three runs in the next four balls to complete the match. Thus, Gujarat beat Kolkata by eight runs.

Here are the top tweets of the game