हिन्दी (Hindi)

Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin among other Indian players nominated for the ICC Awards

November 25, 2020

Written By,

Ankit Seth

Indian skipper Virat Kohli, and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin were nominated for the prestigious Player of the Decade Award on Tuesday. Virat Kohli is in all five men's categories for his incredible run in the last ten years. Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin are the two Indians among seven players enlisted for the most esteemed award.

Except for these two Indian players, Joe Root, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, AB de Villiers, and Kumar Sangakkara are the other nominees in this category. For the Men's ODI Player of the Decade, former India skipper MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma have been shortlisted together with Kohli.

Along with Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli has also been featured in the Men's T20I Player of the Decade category. The list includes players like Rashid Khan, Imran Tahir, Aaron Finch, Lasith Malinga, and Chris Gayle.

MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli are also the nominees for the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade category. Virat Kohli, who averages more than 50 in all formats, has already gathered 70 international hundreds.

Virat Kohli stands third in the list of leading run-scorers

The run-machine is spotted third in the list of leading run-scorers of all time with 21,444 runs. He is behind Ricky Ponting who has scored 27,483 and Sachin Tendulkar with 34,357 overall.

Over the last ten years, Virat Kohli has aggregated over 7000 runs in Tests. In the shorter formats, he has amassed more than 11000 runs in ODIs and over 2600 runs in T20s. The International Cricket Council (ICC) will declare the final winners based on the number of votes the player acquires.

List of nominations for each category:

Men's Player of the Decade category features Virat Kohli (India), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Joe Root (England), Steve Smith (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka).

Mithali Raj (India), Jhulan Goswami (India), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), and Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) are the nominees for Women's ODI Player of the Decade.

Whereas, Mithali Raj (India), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Meg Lanning (Australia), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Sarah Taylor (England) are selected for Women’s Player of the Decade.

Virat Kohli (India), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Mitchell Starc (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Rohit Sharma (India), MS Dhoni (India), and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) are the shortlisted contenders for the Men's ODI Player of the Decade category.

Lastly, Virat Kohli (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Steve Smith (Australia), James Anderson (England), Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka), and Yasir Shah (Pakistan) are picked for the Men's Test Player of the Decade.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth