हिन्दी (Hindi)

Wasim Khan cites India’s participation doubtful as he confirms Pakistan has earned hosting rights of 2022 Asia Cup

December 4, 2020

Written By,

Payel Gosh

The CEO of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Wasim Khan, has confirmed that Pakistan has got the right to host the 2022 Asia Cup. Khan also mentioned that Sri Lanka would host the next season of the Asia Cup in June of next year.  It was scheduled to take place this year but was postponed due to Covid-19.

Asia Cup was slated to take place before the T20 World Cup earlier this year. ICC postponed both tournaments; however, due to the pandemic. Fans expect both the showpiece events to take place next year. India will host the T20 World Cup, and Sri Lanka will host the Asia Cup.

Wasim Khan mentioned that decisions on the next two Asian Cup editions were taken at the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) online meeting last week. He added that the Board fixed June as the time to host the postponed Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. However, the dates could be rescheduled if needed.

Pakistan is eager to host a major cricket tournament in the nation since the 2008 Asia Cup. They had to play their home games at a neutral venue for about a decade after the 2009 attack on the Sri Lankan team bus. However, the condition has changed over the last few years; and cricket teams of Zimbabwe, West Indies, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka have toured Pakistan to play cricket.

Pakistan has doubts about India’s participation

Now it would be interesting to watch whether Team India gets the green light to visit Pakistan as Pakistan is ready to host the Asia Cup 2022. The bilateral relationship between the two nations is at an all-time low. Furthermore, it is doubtful that the relationship will improve anytime soon.

Since 2007, when Pakistan toured India for three tests and five ODIs, India and Pakistan have not played a full bilateral Test series. In December 2012, Pakistan team toured India to play a short series of two T20Is and three ODIs in India. Other than this, India and Pakistan have clashed only in the tournaments organized by ICC and in the Asia Cup.

READ MORE Cricket Articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh