हिन्दी (Hindi)

Watch: Crowd goes crazy as Dushmantha Chameera picks the final wicket of Matthew Kuhnemann

By BetBarter Staff

June 17, 2022

Sri Lanka defeated Australia by 26 runs in the second ODI to level the five-match series. The Sri Lankan bowling attack was at the top of their game as they were the reason for Australia’s collapse. After the rain had poured, Australia was chasing a revised target of 216 runs in 43 overs (DLS method). However, they were dismissed for a score of 189 runs in just under 38 overs.

Fast bowler Chamika Karunaratne, with his three wickets in the game, was the star of the innings. However, it was Dushmanta Chameera who took the final wicket of Matthew Kuhnemann. With this wicket, the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium crowd erupted in celebration of their team’s triumph. A video of the same has surfaced on the internet.

Here is the video

In the meantime, Sri Lanka did not have the best with the bat either. They failed to form partnerships at critical stages of the game, resulting in only 220 runs in the 48th over, when the game was interrupted due to rain. With 36 runs in 41 balls, Kusal Mendis led the way for Sri Lanka. Pat Cummins was the standout with the ball, taking four wickets, while Matthew Kuhnemann, playing his first game, and Glenn Maxwell both took two.

In the next innings, the home team’s bowling and fielding efforts made things difficult for Australia. They, too, did not allow batters to create partnerships. Only David Warner (37 runs in 51 balls) and Glenn Maxwell (30 runs in 25 balls) scored more than 30 runs for Australia. Dhananjaya de Silva broke through the opening pair for Sri Lanka, while Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, and Chamika Karunaratne dismissed the remaining batters.

Karunaratne took three wickets in the match, with Chameera, De Silva, and Dunith Wellalage each taking two. After two matches, the score is poised at 1-1. The remaining three ODI matches will be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Following the ODIs, the sides will square off in two Test matches at the Galle International Stadium.