हिन्दी (Hindi)

Watch: Ravichandran Ashwin trolls Riyan Parag while batting

By BetBarter Staff

May 25, 2022

The final over of Rajasthan‘s innings in the first qualifier of the Indian T20 League 2022 was full of drama. At first, Jos Buttler was run out trying to steal a second run on the final ball of the over. As it turns out, it was a no-ball, and Rajasthan had another go at it.

On the following delivery, Gujarat’s Yash Dayal delivered a wide, with Ravichandran Ashwin on strike. Riyan Parag attempted to steal a single at the non-strikers, but a massive miscommunication left him stranded in the centre of the pitch. Ashwin denied him the single, but Parag was almost at the other end. Wriddhiman Saha, in the meantime, collected the ball and threw it to the bowler. Dayal then walked and took the bails off the stumps on the non-striking end.

Riyan Parag was left extremely unhappy with Ashwin not taking the run, and the frustration was clearly visible on his face. A video of the same has gone viral over the internet.

Here is the video

In the meantime, Rajasthan put up a brilliant batting display, to begin with.  Despite struggling at the start of his innings, Jos Buttler scored a brilliant half-century. He scored 89 runs in 56 balls. Sanju Samson (47 runs in 26 balls) and Devdutt Padikkal (28 runs in 20 balls) also played handy knocks to help the team reach a total of 188 batting first.

In the chase, Gujarat also put up a brilliant batting display that always kept the league debutants alive in the chase. Shubman Gill and Matthew Wade got the team off to a great start, and Hardik Pandya and David Miller carried that forward. The pair added 104 runs in the partnership to get the team through. Miller scored 68 runs in 38 balls, while Pandya scored 40 runs in 27 balls.

With this win, the Hardik Pandya-led team have advanced to the final, which is set to take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on the 29th of May. On the other hand, Rajasthan will play in the second Qualifier at the same venue on the 27th of May.