हिन्दी (Hindi)

Watch: Sourav Ganguly amazed with Virat Kohli’s flick shot

By Alan

May 26, 2022

Virat Kohli has struggled throughout the Indian T20 League 2022, but his technique and some of his shots have left everyone starstruck. More recently, a flick shot that he played in the Eliminator game against Lucknow impressed veteran cricketer and BCCI President Sourav Ganguly.

Dushmantha Chameera charged in and delivered a full ball against Kohli’s pads. Kohli, who was batting considerably more upright and straighter, recognised it early and smashed it through the leg side for four. The cameras immediately went to BCCI president Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah in the stands, who appeared to be taken aback by the picture.

After Shah clapped and whispered something to Ganguly, the former India captain acknowledged his excitement at Kohli’s shot. The video of the same went viral on the internet. Notably, there is some history between Sourav Ganguly and Virat Kohli, but it appears that both have moved on.

Here is the video

Returning to the game, Kohli managed just 25 runs in 24 balls. However, Rajat Patidar impressed everyone with a brilliant century in the match. Dinesh Karthik also gave him the perfect as the finisher. The two helped the team reach a total of 207 runs.

In the chase, KL Rahul and Deepak Hooda gave a good performance, but did not get much support. The skipper scored a hard-fought half-century, but that was not enough for the team. The Bangalore team’s bowling unit held their nerves to restrict Lucknow below the target. Bangalore eventually won the match by 14 runs.

The Faf du Plessis-led team have now advanced to play against the inaugural champions Rajasthan in the second qualifier. The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the match on the 27th of April. The winner of the second qualifier will move to play against Gujarat in the final at the same venue on the 29th of April.

For the first time since 2016, someone other than Mumbai and Chennai will win the tournament. Rajasthan previously won the tournament in 2008, whereas Gujarat and Bangalore will battle for their first crown.