हिन्दी (Hindi)

We know the horrific nature of what’s happening outside the bubble: Eoin Morgan

By Bet Barter

April 27, 2021

KKR skipper Eoin Morgan stated that the players are very much aware of what is happening outside the security of their bio-bubble. With the second wave of the pandemic in India, several players are seen pulling out of the tournament. Delhi Capitals off-spinner R Ashwin has decided to opt out of the competition, citing personal reasons. RCB's Adam Zampa and Kane Richardson also decided to fly back home. Rajasthan Royals' Andrew Tye is another Australian who opted out of IPL.

Australian pacer Pat Cummins, who plays under Eoin Morgan in KKR, donated $50,000 to the Prime Minister's Relief Fund. This amount was presented for the purchase of oxygen supplies in India. In a statement on his official Twitter account, the pacer made the announcement and also urged other players to do the same, considering the country is battling a second wave of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Eoin Morgan stepped up as KKR ended their 4-match losing streak

Eoin Morgan looked a determined man as he slammed an unbeaten 47 in just 40 balls. His brilliant knock helped KKR gun down a target of 124 in just 16.4 overs. KKR skipper was equally competent on the field, arraying his troops well as KKR restricted Punjab to 123/9 in 20 overs. The victory has now lifted Kolkata out of the last spot. The team has moved up to the 5th spot with 2 wins from 6 games in IPL 2021. Eoin Morgan acknowledged that victories have been hard to come by but stressed that the team came up with an awe-inspiring performance, especially with the ball.

Notably, young pacer Shivam Mavi stopped the run flow in the powerplay. He picked up one wicket and gave away just 13 runs in all 4 overs. Pat Cummins also chipped in with 2 wickets, while Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy hurt Punjab in the middle overs. Prasidh Krishna did the star act with the ball as he scalped three 3 crucial wickets. Eoin Morgan & Co. will next face in-form Delhi Capitals on Thursday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!