हिन्दी (Hindi)

West Indies agrees to change CPL 2021 dates on BCCI’s request

By Bet Barter

June 18, 2021

At BCCI's request, the West Indies Cricket Board has agreed to change the dates of the Caribbean Premier League 2021. The agreement has now been finalized, and there is a slight change in the CPL 2021 schedule. The T20 tournament is going to start on August 25 and end on September 15. This will allow the Indian Premier League to start as per its original date.

With these changes, there won't be any overlapping between both the T20 competitions. All the West Indies players and several other players who are part of CPL and IPL can be available to play both leagues. The Indian cricket team is currently in England for the World Test Championship final and the five-match test series against England. The entire team is going to return by September month. The Indian Premier League (IPL) was halted on May 4 due to an increasing number of Covid-19 cases. Overall, 29 games were conducted in the 14th season of the Indian Premier League. Thus, with 31 games remaining, the BCCI will need a small window of around three weeks to complete the tournament.

The 2021 season of the Hero Caribbean Premier League will comprise 33 matches

The CPL authorities will now be preparing for the logistics as the West Indies cricketers will now move from the national bubble to their respective franchise bubbles after finishing their Pakistan series. The 2021 season of the Hero CPL will comprise 33 matches. All the games of the T20 tournament are going to take place at Warner Park, St Kitts, because of the Covid-19 pandemic. In 2020, the tournament was conducted in Trinidad and Tobago. All matches of the league were played at the Queen's Park Oval and the Brian Lara Stadium.

St Kitts and Nevis government had announced that fans would be allowed at the venue. However, only 50 percent of tickets will be sold, and all people who are coming to watch the game must be vaccinated against Covid-19. Trinbago Knight Riders are the defending champions of the Caribbean Premier League. The side defeated St Lucia Zouks by eight wickets in the 2020 final. The other teams participating in the competition are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Zouks, and Jamaica Tallawahs.

Read more articles