West Indies vs India T20I series: Schedule, Squads, Updates & All You Need To Know

By BetBarter Staff

July 28, 2022

After the culmination of the three-match ODI series between West Indies and India, both teams will now play a five-match T20I series. The series will start on July 29 at the Brian Lara Academy in Tarouba in Trinidad. After this, both teams will travel to St. Kitts and Florida, USA for the following games.

Talking about the squads, some of the first-choice players have returned to the side while some have been rested. Shikhar Dhawan, who led the team in the 50-over games, won’t be playing in T20Is as he isn’t part of the T20I plans. Regular skipper, Rohit Sharma, who rested during the ODI series, will join the team.

Also, Yuzvendra Chahal, who played in the ODI series, has been rested for the shortest format. Not to forget, Sanju Samson, who was part of the ODI setup and kept the wickets, isn’t part of the T20I team. Notably, Ravichandran Ashwin is making a comeback in white-ball cricket ahead of the series. Arshdeep Singh, who didn’t play in the ODI series will also be part of the squad.

On the other hand, West Indies haven’t announced their squad for the T20I series. However, it is safe to assume that the same set of players will play in the series. Skipper Nicholas Pooran has confirmed in the press conference that Shimron Hetmyer has passed his fitness Test. The Guyanese didn’t play in international cricket since the 20-20 World Cup last year.

Schedule and Timings for the T20I series

1st T20I- 29th July- Brian Lara Academy, Tarouba, Trinidad- 8 PM (IST)

2nd T20I- 1st August- Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts- 8 PM (IST)

3rd T20I- 2nd August- Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts- 8 PM (IST)

4th T20I- 6th August- Lauderhill, Florida- 8 PM (IST)

5th T20I- 7th August- Lauderhill, Florida- 8 PM (IST)

India’s squad for the T20I series

Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

West Indies squad for the T20I series

Yet to be Announced

Broadcast Details

Television- DD Sports

Digital Streaming- Fan Code