हिन्दी (Hindi)

‘What a debut!’- Twitter explodes as Gujarat beat Rajasthan to claim title in debut season

By BetBarter Staff

May 29, 2022

Gujarat beat Rajasthan by seven wickets to lift the Indian T20 League 2022 title in their debut season. The Gujarat-based franchise bowled brilliantly on their home ground, limiting Rajasthan to a modest score on a decent batting surface. After losing a couple of early wickets, the league debutants batted smartly to bounce back and win the match and deny Rajasthan their second title.

Sanju Samson won the toss and decided to bat first at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The Rajasthan team had a decent start as Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal played with positive intent. They added 31 runs in the partnership within the first four overs. However, Yash Dayal broke the partnership with Jaiswal’s wicket (22). Buttler, in the meantime, continued to play well. Rajasthan lost their skipper Samson (14) in the ninth over for a team score of 60.

Following that, the men in pink slowed down dramatically as they continued to lose wickets. The bowlers did not allow them to settle, and kept the innings in control. Hardik Pandya and Sai Kishore bowled brilliant spells in the middle overs. Pandya took three wickets in four overs, while Kishore had two wickets in two overs. In the end, Rajasthan managed 130 runs on the board and lost nine wickets. Buttler had the most runs in the innings for his side, scoring 39 in 35 balls.

Chasing the target, Gujarat did not have the best start either. Prasidh Krishna and Trent Boult well early on. In the first six overs, they allowed only 31 runs and took two wickets. Hardik Pandya and Shubman Gill got the team back in the game as they played with caution and scored 63 runs in the partnership. However, Yuzvendra Chahal broke the partnership by dismissing Pandya (34) for a team score of 86 in the 14th over.

David Miller walked in and accelerated the innings for Gujarat. Along with Gill, he played a brilliant knock to keep the boundaries flowing. They added 47 runs, and Shubman Gill finished the season in style with a six on the first ball of the 19th over. Miller scored 32 runs in 19 balls, and Gill scored 45 runs in 43 balls.

 Here is how Twitter reacted to Gujarat’s maiden Indian T20 League title