हिन्दी (Hindi)

Yash Dhull to lead India in U-19 50-over World Cup

By BetBarter Staff

December 19, 2021

The All-India Junior Selection Committee has announced the India squad for the upcoming U-19 50 over World Cup. The mega event will be played from January 14-February 5, 2022 in the Caribbean in four host countries. As many as 16 teams, divided into four groups, will be battling for the title across 10 venues in Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Among all, India is the most successful team, having won the title on four occasions in 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018. Two times they have ended as runners up, in 2016 and 2020.

The India squad will be led by Yash Dhull, with SK Rasheed as vice-captain. India are placed alongside South Africa, Uganda and Ireland. The team open their campaign against South Africa on 15th January in Guyana.

Group A sees Bangladesh alongside England, Canada and UAE; Afghanistan, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea and Zimbabwe are clubbed in Group C, whereas Group D includes Australia, Scotland and Sri Lanka and hosts West Indies. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super League, while the teams finishing third and fourth will face off in Plate playoffs.

India squad:Yash Dhull (c), Harnoor Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, SK Rasheed (vice-captain), Nishant Sindhu, Siddarth Yadav, Dinesh Bana (wk), Aaradhya Yadav (wk), Raj Angad Bawa, Manav Parakh, Kaushal Tambe, RS Hangargekar, Vasu Vats, Vicky Ostwal, Ravikumar, Garv Sangwan.

Standby players: Rishit Reddy, Uday Saharan, Ansh Gosai, Amit Raj Upadhyay, PM Singh Rathore.