‘Ye Dukh khatam kaahe nahin hota be’ – Fans disappointed as India collapse in second innings, set Australia a 76-run target to win the Test

By Daniel S

March 2, 2023

Mohammed Siraj stepped forward to go for a big shot against the experienced Aussie spinner Nathan Lyon; couldn’t judge it well and the ball went straight to hit the off-stump.  So, it was the end of the second Indian innings with a score of only 163 runs. The hosts could take a lead of only 75 runs in the second innings and happened to set Australia a low target of 76 runs to win the Indore Test.

The Indian batting in the second innings of the third Test completely revolved around the senior batter and Test specialist, Cheteshwar Pujara. He played a very crucial knock of 59 runs off 142 balls with five boundaries and an amazing six to his name. Pujara rescued the Indian innings from a miserable state to at least a lead of 75 runs.

Although the Indian cricket fans weren’t happy after this performance of Team India in the penultimate fixture of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Subsequently, the fans also took to Twitter and expressed their dismay and disappointment with a lot of different kinds of tweets and reactions.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Notably, Rohit Sharma’s men are currently leading the four-match Test series by a margin of 2-0. They won the Nagpur and Delhi Tests with big margins. Firstly, they won Nagpur Test by an innings and 132 runs followed by a six-wicket win in the Delhi Test.

Coming back to the ongoing Third Test, now the visitors need only 76 runs in the second innings to win the match and register their name as well on the scoreline of the series. Interestingly, this Test series is very crucial for the Indian team to secure their berth in the final of the Test Championship 2023. They are ought to win this clash against Australia by an optimum margin of either 3-0, 3-1, or 4-0 to make their way to the final.

Following the conclusion of the ongoing Indore Test, both teams will lock horns in the fourth and last of the four-match Test series at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad from Thursday, the 9th of March.