‘Ye sab kya dekhna pad rha hai’ – Fans react as Aakash Chopra and Venkatesh Prasad named together in commentators’ list for WTL 2023

By Daniel S

March 3, 2023

The first-ever edition of the historic Women’s T20 League is just around the corner; Gujarat Women and Mumbai women will lock horns in the tournament on Saturday, the 4th of March at the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy in Pune. Notably, the Indian Cricket Board has come up with this tournament for women’s cricket after the 15 years of men’s Indian T20 League’s inception.

Meanwhile, in another announcement for Indian cricket fans, the official broadcasters, Sports 18 and Jio Cinema have announced the list of commentators for the inaugural season of the tournament.

This list will include, “Aakash Chopra, Venkatesh Prasad, Anjum Chopra, Punam Raut, Reema Malhotra, Veda Krishnamurthy, Natalie Germanos, Kate Cross, Mel Jones, Zaheer Khan, Parthiv Patel.”

The eagle-eyed Indian cricket fans didn’t miss a chance to notice the names of Aakash Chopra and Venkatesh Prasad together. Notably, the two had a very rough face-off on the micro-blogging site Twitter. Aakash and Prasad went on to involve in a heated debate over KL Rahul’s selection in the playing XI of India.

Subsequently, the Indian fans immediately took to Twitter to come up with some hilarious and interesting reactions after noticing the names of two veterans.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Notably, all five participating teams of the Women’s T20 League have announced their captains for the first season of the tournament. The legendary and World Champion Australian skipper Meg Lanning will lead the Delhi franchise alongside her national team Beth Mooney who will lead Gujarat in the tournament.

Apart from that, the Mumbai franchise appointed the skipper of India’s national side, Harmanpreet Kaur as the captain of the team. Star Indian batter Smriti Mandhana will be leading the star-studded Bangalore team in the 2023 edition of the Women’s T20 League.

Australia’s star wicketkeeper-batter Alyssa Healy has been appointed as the first captain of the Delhi Franchise.