‘Arshdeep ka last over match haara diya!’ – Fans react as team India suffer a 21-run defeat to New Zealand in 1st T20I

By Daniel S

January 27, 2023

On 27 January 2023, team India kicked off the three-match T20I series against New Zealand. The first match took place in Ranchi. After winning the ODI series convincingly, the Men in Blue were looking for another series victory under Hardik Pandya. However, on the eve of the match, Pandya confirmed that Prithvi Shaw will not get a chance to play in the series opener.

Hence, Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill will open the innings. Speaking of the match, Pandya won the toss and asked the Kiwis to bat first. However, some fans became surprised when they heard that the home side went with Kuldeep Yadav over Yuzvendra Chahal. For the Kiwis, Finn Allen and Devon Conway came out to open the innings.

New Zealand defeated team India by 21 runs in the first T20I

Finn Allen scored 35 runs off 23 balls, including four boundaries and two sixes. Conway scored 52 runs off 35 balls, including seven fours and one six. But, it was Daryl Mitchell who was the star of the show. He scored 59* runs off 30 balls, including three fours and five sixes. Thus, they scored 176 runs for six wickets in 20 overs. For the Men in Blue, Washington Sundar took two wickets for 22 runs in four overs. While Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, and Shivam Mavi took one wicket each.

In reply, the top-order of the home side failed miserably. Ishan Kishan scored four runs while Shubman managed only seven runs. Rahul Tripathy failed again as he scored a six-ball duck. Then, Suryakumar Yadav and skipper Hardik Pandya put up a solid partnership of 68 runs. But, Suryakumar got out after scoring 47 runs off 34 balls, including six fours and two sixes. Pandya also managed only 21 runs off 20 balls. Then, Washington Sundar put up a show with the bat also. He scored 50 runs off 28 balls, including five fours and three sixes. Finally, India managed only 155 runs for nine wickets in 20 overs. Thus, they lost the match by 21 runs.

Here is how fans have reacted to the defeat of team India against New Zealand in the first T20I: