Bangla Tigers announce their signings and retentions for the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022

By BetBarter Staff

August 24, 2022

The sixth season of the Abu Dhabi T10 League will start on November 23rd this year and conclude on December 4th. Ahead of the season, Bangla Tigers have announced their signed and retained player for the upcoming season.

They have retained Sri Lanka’s Matheesha Pathirana and former Pakistan left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir. Apart from this, they have signed two players, namely Evin Lewis (West Indies) and Colin Munro (New Zealand).

The former is signed in the Platinum category while Munro was signed in the ‘A’ category. Talking about the team, they are yet to win the trophy. They were first inducted into the tournament ahead of the 2019 season. Since then, they have qualified for the playoffs but have never won the title. This year, they will be looking to take the monkey off their back.

Matheesha Pathirana is a rising star in Sri Lanka

The Sri Lanka sensation is one of the rising stars in Sri Lanka cricket. Often regarded as ‘Junior Malinga’, he first came into the limelight during the 2020 U19 World Cup. Playing for his national Colts side, he was reported to have bowled a delivery as quick as 175 kmph per hour.

It was, later, found out that the speed gun had a technical issue. During the dying stages of the Indian T20 League this year, he was signed by Chennai and went on to play for the team as well.

The 19-year-old got a maiden national call-up for the T20I series against Australia a few months back. However, he didn’t play a game in the three-match series. Till now, he has played nine games in the shortest format and has seven wickets to his name at an average of 26.57.