5 legendary cricketers who never won a Cricket World Cup

India great Sachin Tendulkar had to wait for six Cricket World Cup editions to get his hands on the elusive trophy in 2011. cricketers who never won the coveted title.

Mathew K
New Update
AB de Villiers & Brian Lara (Source: Twitter)

Cricket World Cup AB de Villiers & Brian Lara (Source: Twitter)

It is every cricketer's dream to be a part of the Cricket World Cup-winning team. While winning a match or tournament in cricket is not in the hands of a single player, the status of a legend is not complete without winning a World Cup. There have been many players in the history of the game who have given their absolute best for the team but still failed to win the elusive title.

This listicle will take you through the top 5 legendary cricketers who never won a World Cup.

5. Brain Lara (West Indies)


Initially, West Indies dominated international cricket but gradually they lost their edge year by year. Brain Lara was part of 5 World Cup editions (1992, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007) but the closest he came to lifting the title was in 1996 when West Indies lost to Australia in the semi-finals. The southpaw has a healthy ODI record of over 10,000 runs with 19 centuries at an average of around 40.

4. Jacques Kallis (South Africa)


Despite being able to do everything in cricket, Jacques Kallis was unlucky to get his hands on the World Cup title. One of the greatest all-rounders in the game, Kallis has played in five World Cup editions - 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011. He was just one of the victims of South Africa's failure to cross the knockout hurdle. Notably, Kallis was part of the 1999 WC, where the Proteas had a heartbreaking semi-final exit as Australia progressed to the final after the match ended in a tie. He has taken 273 wickets and scored over 11,000 runs in ODI cricket. 

3. AB de Villiers (South Africa)


Another South African who could literally do everything on the field but failed to win the World Cup. De Villiers has been a part of three World Cups, his closest being at the semi-final stage in the 2007 and 2015 editions. The Proteas were favourites to win the title in 2015, but Brendon McCullum's (another legend who failed to win the trophy) New Zealand gave them agony in the semi-finals. The right-hander has a healthy ODI World Cup record, amassing over 1200 runs at an average of 63.53 with four centuries.

2. Sourav Ganguly (India) 


Ganguly, the man who changed the trajectory of the Indian Cricket Team, is undoubtedly one of the best limited-overs batters of his time. The former India captain had featured in three World Cup editions (1999, 2003, 2007). He was almost there to get his hands on the elusive title in 2003, but a heartbreaking loss to Australia in the final dashed his and India's hopes. In those three World Cups, Ganguly has scored 1,066 runs at an impressive average of 56 from 22 matches. 

1. Waqar Younis (Pakistan)


One of the greatest fast bowlers in the history of cricket, Waqar Younis could not be part of Pakistan's World Cup-winning team in 1992. Younis was part of three World Cups (1996,1999,2003) but a back injury ruled him out of Pakistan's only World Cup-winning campaign under the leadership of Imran Khan. However, the king of reverse swing was part of the 1999 World Cup, where Pakistan lost to Australia in the final. The right-arm pacer decorated his ODI career with more than 400 wickets in 262 matches.

Also check : Top ten team scores in ODI Cricket World Cup history

Cricket ODI World Cup Featured AB de Villiers