Former India batter hits at Indian team management, refers to Ishan Kishan

Ishan Kishan scored two consecutive half-centuries in the first and second T20I, respectively during the recently concluded T20I series against Australia.

Mathew K
New Update
Ishan Kishan (File Photo: Twitter)

Ishan Kishan (File Photo: Twitter)

Team India under the captaincy of star batter Suryakumar Yadav, recently played the five-match T20I series against Australia. In this series, India made a couple of changes in their squad for the first three T20Is and the last two T20Is. In the same line of events, young wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan was rested for the last two T20Is after getting a callup in the playing XI for the first three T20Is.

Meanwhile, team management’s decision to rest Ishan Kishan for the fourth and fifth T20I didn’t go down well with the former Indian batter Ajay Jadeja. He lashed out at the management for not playing Ishan Kishan for all the five T20I matches of the series.

"How will you ensure that he is fully ready?" - Ajay Jadeja about Ishan Kishan

Notably, Ishan Kishan was replaced by wicketkeeper-batter Jitesh Sharma in the playing XI of the last two T20I matches in Raipur and Bengaluru, respectively.

"Ishan Kishan didn't even play the entire five-match T20I series against Australia. He was sent home after three matches to rest. So, if this is going to continue, how will you ensure that he is fully ready? ," said Jadeja to Sports Tak.

“He can change the game on his day. When will he get ready? Will you keep him on trial all the time? In the last two years, how many games has he played? This problem of Indian cricket is not of today, it is very old that we don't select (players) but reject them,” he added later.

Apart from this, India have also announced their squad for the upcoming all-format series tour to South Africa. Ishan Kishan is a part of the T20I and Test squad for the series against South Africa while getting rested from the ODI series.

Here’s a look at the T20I squad of India for the series against South Africa:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Deepak Chahar.

India vs Australia 2023 Featured Ishan Kishan ajay jadeja