'Justice for Sanju coming' - Fans react as Sanju Samson hits century for Kerala against Railways in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023

Sanju Samson scored a century in the Group A match against Railways in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023. However, his knock ended up in a losing cause in the match.

Mathew K
New Update
Sanju Samson (File Photo: Twitter)

Sanju Samson (File Photo: Twitter)

Star Indian wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson is currently in action for his domestic state team Kerala in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023. He attracted the headlines after smashing a brilliant century in the just-concluded Group A match against Railways. Both teams played this match at the Kini Sports Arena Ground in Bangalore.

Kerala skipper Sanju Samson won the toss and asked Railways to bat first; batting first Railways posted a decent total of 255 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 50 overs. Middle-order batter Yuvraj Singh scored a crucial century, scoring 121 runs, hitting 13 fours and a six to his name.

Sanju Samson led Kerala's run-chase against Railways 

While chasing the target, Kerala were crumbling after losing 4 wickets just at the score of 59 runs in 17.3 overs. But then came a well-fought century scored by skipper Sanju Samson, scoring 128 runs, hitting 8 fours and 6 sixes, alongside 53 runs scored by middle-order batter Shreyas Gopal. The Sanju-Shreyas duo stitched an important partnership of 138 runs for the fifth wicket. However, it went in vain as Kerala fell 19 runs short of the target and lost the match by 18 runs.

Rahul Sharma scalped 4 wickets for Railways, alongside two wickets picked by Himanshu Sangwan. Apart from Sharma and Sangwan, Raj Choudhary and Karn Sharma also claimed one scalp each to their names.

Despite Kerala losing the match, Sanju Samson drew praise for his excellent knock during the run-chase for his side. It is also crucial for Sanju to prove his form as he has been picked in the Indian squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series during India’s tour to South Africa.  

Here’s a look at India’s squad for the ODI series against South Africa:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, and Deepak Chahar.

Here's how fans reacted to Sanju Samson's century for Kerala:



Featured Sanju Samson Vijay Hazare Trophy