'Lapet kar series samet lee' - Fans elated as India beat Australia by 20 runs to take unassailable lead of 3-1 in five-match T20I series

India have secured an unassailable lead of 3-1 against Australia in the five-match T20I series. Now, both teams will play the fifth T20I on December 3.

Mathew K
New Update
India vs Australia, 4th T20I (File Photo: Twitter)

India vs Australia, 4th T20I (File Photo: Twitter)

India defeated Australia in the fourth T20I of the five-match series to gain an unassailable lead in the series of 3-1 to seal the series. The men in blue won by 20 runs in the penultimate fixture of the five-match series against the Aussies. The visitors’ skipper won the toss and asked the Suryakumar Yadav’s men to bat first.

Batting first, the hosts managed to post a total of 174 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. The young opening pair of Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad provided a strong start to India’s batting by stitching a partnership of 50 runs in just 6 overs. Jaiswal and Gaikwad scored 37 and 32 runs, respectively.

Following their knocks, the star Indian batting sensation Rinku Singh played a quick knock of 46 runs off just 29 balls, hitting 4 fours and 2 sixes, alongside Jitesh Sharma’s 35-run knock, which he scored off just 19 balls, with a four, and 3 sixes.

However, the lost of wickets in quick succession happened to cost India and they restricted to the score of 174 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs.

Ben Dwarshuis scalped 3 wickets for Australia, alongside two wickets each bagged by 2 wickets each by Jason Behrendorff. Apart from these three,, Aaron Hardie claimed one wicket.

Indian bowlers get better of Australian batting attack

While chasing the target, Australian batters got restricted to the score of 154 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs by the Indian bowlers. Axar Patel scalped 3 wickets for India, alongside one wicket each picked by Ravi Bishnoi and Avesh Khan. Deepak Chahar also claimed two wickets while defending the target.

Axar Patel won the ‘Player of the Match award for his match-winning performance, scalping 3 wickets at the cost of just 16 runs.

Now, both teams will lock horns in the last and fifth T20I of the five-match series on Sunday, December 3, 2023 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Here’s how fans reacted to India’s win in the 4th T20I against Australia:



Featured India vs Australia Twitter Reactions India vs Australia 2023