'T20 century ko mazak banaya hua hai' - Fans react as star Aussie batter Glenn Maxwell smashes 5th T20I century

Glenn Maxwell has now joined the Indian skipper and the blistering opener to register the most centuries in T20I cricket; both batters have 5 centuries each.

Mathew K
New Update
Glenn Maxwell (File Photo: X)

Glenn Maxwell (File Photo: X)

Star Australia batting all-rounder impressed everyone with his sensational knock in the second T20I of the three-match series against West Indies. Coming to bat in at number 4, Maxwell played a swashbuckling knock of 120 runs off just 55 balls, with 12 fours and 8 sixes. on the back of his knock, Australia managed to post a massive total of 241 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

It was also the 5th century for Maxwell in the T20Is, equaling the record of most T20I centuries, alongside Indian skipper and blistering opener, Rohit Sharma. However, Maxwell also became the fastest to score the 5th T20I century in just 94 innings. 

Australia dominated the West Indies in the second T20I

The fans were also left amused with this sensational and outstanding century-knock played by Maxwell in the second T20I of the series against the Caribbean side. Fans lauded the veteran Australian all-rounder for his swashbuckling and record-equaling knock in Australia’s favour.

Speaking of the ongoing action of the second T20I between Australia and West Indies, the visitors are currently looking in trouble while chasing the target of 242 runs; they have lost 9 wickets at the score of 190 runs in 18.3 overs. It has been only the skipper Rovman Powell who played a blistering knock of 63 runs off just 36 balls, with 5 fours and 4 sixes.

Besides Powell, the veteran all-rounder Andre Russell also scored 37 runs off just 16 balls, hitting 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Star all-rounder Marcus Stoins has scalped 3 wickets for Australia so far in the second innings, alongside two wickets each picked by Josh Hazlewood and Spencer Johnson. Besides these, Jason Behrendorff and Adam Zampa have also bagged one wicket each.

Here’s how fans reacted to the 5th T20I century of Glenn Maxwell: