WATCH: Harmanpreet Kaur and Alyssa Healy get involved in intense on-field clash during one-off Test

Harmanpreet Kaur and Alyssa Healy ignite on-field tensions in a heated clash during a one-off Test, adding intensity to the cricket match with their fierce confrontation.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
Harmanpreet Kaur and Alyssa Healy (Source - Twitter).png

Harmanpreet Kaur and Alyssa Healy (Source - Twitter)

India women and Australian women are clashing against each other in the one-off Test at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium. However, the spotlight shifted from the cricketing action to a fiery on-field exchange between the captains, Harmanpreet Kaur and Alyssa Healy.

The ongoing all-format series, marking a significant clash between the Women in Blue and the Aussies, began with the Test match where India are eying their first-ever victory over Australia in this format. Tensions escalated on Day 3 when Kaur, leading India, confronted Healy during the second innings.

The drama unfolded as Kaur, in her fourth over, bowled a fuller delivery defended by Healy. The Indian skipper, sensing an opportunity, fired the ball directly at Healy as she ventured out of her crease. The ball, striking Healy's bat, ricocheted to the deep third fence, resulting in a contentious four runs. Kaur appealed for obstructing the field, but the umpires dismissed the plea, granting the Aussies the additional runs.

Watch the video here:

Harmanpreet Kaur dismissed Alyssa Healy

The verbal sparring between Kaur and Healy added another layer to the intense moment. However, the cricketing gods seemed to favour Kaur, as Healy fell victim to an LBW dismissal on the very next delivery. Despite Healy's unsuccessful review attempt, Australia managed to stay competitive by claiming three early Indian wickets and amassing 233 runs. With a lead of 46 runs and five wickets in hand, the visitors kept the game finely poised, leaving fans eager for the next chapter in this captivating Test match.

However, let's take a look at what MCC’s law 37.1 says, "Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. A batter shall not be out Obstructing the field if the obstruction or distraction is accidental, or the obstruction is in order to avoid injury, or in the case of the striker, he/she makes a second or subsequent strike to guard his/her wicket lawfully." quoted by

Featured India India women vs Australia