'India ka domination chha raha hai' - Fans react as India beat Japan by 4-0 to win Women's Hockey Asian Champions Trophy

In the finals of the Asian Women's Hockey Championship, India thrashed Japan by 4-0 to win the crown after seven years in Ranchi on Sunday, November 5.

Mathew K
New Update
India beat Japan

India beat Japan (Source: Twitter)

When All India was celebrating India's dominating performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, the Indian Women's Hockey Team also allowed fans to smile. In the finals of the Asian Women's Hockey Championship, India thrashed Japan by 4-0 to win the crown. This is India's second win in tournament history, as they claimed it earlier in 2016.

The highly anticipated game started with a delay of 50 minutes at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh AstroTurf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi. The delay was due to a technical issue with one of the floodlights. Once the game commenced, the Indian team showcased their dominance, spurred on by the encouraging presence of the Indian men's team in the audience.

Demonstrating an aggressive approach, the hosts made swift advances into Japan's territory, keeping the opposition on edge. The stalemate was ultimately disrupted as Navneet Kaur executed a remarkable sprint to the top of the Japanese striking circle. She then transferred the ball to Neha, who in turn directed it to Sangita. The player from Jharkhand skillfully guided the ball across the line, securing her sixth goal in the tournament.

India continued to dominate former World Champions

Captain Savita Punia's exceptional goalkeeping skills shone as she thwarted three consecutive penalty corner opportunities and even saved a penalty stroke in the final quarter, securing India's lead. India netted their second goal through a penalty corner variation, with Deepika passing to Deep Grace Ekka, who struck the ball, and Neha positioned in front of the goal, resulting in a score.

India added their third goal when Lalremsiami successfully converted a penalty corner. Vandana sealed the victory in the final minute. Local talent Sangita Kumari (17th min), Neha Goyal (46th), Lalremsiami (57th), and Vandana Katariya (60th) were the goal scorers, leading India to secure the continental crown for the second time.

Here is how fans react to India's dominant victory:

India Hockey Japan