India and Afghanistan played the first-ever T20I in the history of the game which went into two super-overs for the result. It all happened after the allotted 40 overs of the match couldn’t conclude the result of the game; furthermore, in a thrilling turnaround of events, the super-over of the match also ended up getting tied.
So, the match entered the second super over where India won it by 11 runs to win the match and eventually sealed the series by 3-0. However, the comeback of Rohit Sharma in the second super over after getting retired hurt/out in the first super over ignited a big debate in the cricketing corridors over the rules of the super over.
In the same line of events, Afghanistan coach Jonathan Trott also expressed his opinion about the same and also cleared his stand on the confusion over the rules of the super-over.
“I have no idea (whether Rohit retired hurt or out). Has there ever been two Super Overs? That's what I am trying to say. We keep setting these new rules. What I am trying to say is we kept testing the rules, we kept testing the guidelines,” said Jonathan Trott during the post-match presentation.
“These things will be explained and done in writing in the future” – Jonathan Trott, Afghanistan Coach
“It was not communicated about the rule. We wanted Azmat to bowl the second over again, but Fareed bowled a great over. But these things will be explained and done in writing in the future. If those are the rules, that's great. I just think we had a good game, and I don't think that (rules) should be the talking point,” he added later.
Speaking of the action of the match, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a swashbuckling century to win the ‘Player of the Match award, scoring 121 runs off just 69 balls, hitting 11 fours and 8 sixes to rescue India from a miserable total to a commanding total of 212 runs.