Star England batter set to miss Test series against India, withdraws name due to personal reasons

England Cricket Board is yet to announce the replacement after the star middle-order opted out of the five-match Test series against India.

Mathew K
New Update
England in Big Trouble Ahead of Test Series against India (File Photo: X)

England in Big Trouble Ahead of Test Series against India (File Photo: X)

In what seems to be a big blow for England, the star middle-order batter withdrew his name from the squad for the upcoming five-match Test series against India. The batter is set to return to his home in England due to personal reasons. England and Wales Cricket Board announced Harry Brook’s withdrawal from the squad on Sunday, January 21 in an official statement.

“Harry Brook is set to return home with immediate effect for personal reasons from the England Men’s Test tour of India,” said ECB in the official statement.

“The Brook family respectfully requests privacy during this time. In light of this, the ECB and the family kindly request the media and the public to respect their wish for privacy and refrain from intruding on their private space,” the statement adds further.

Meanwhile, the England and Wales Cricket Board also mentioned the replacement for Harry Brook, which might be announced in the coming few days as they approach the big Test assignment against India in India.

“The England selectors will confirm a replacement player for the tour in due course,” the ECB confirmed in the official statement.

Here’s a look at England’s updated squad for the Test Series against India:

Ben Stokes (C), Rehan Ahmed, James Anderson, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Shoaib Bashir, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Tom Hartley, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, and Mark Wood.

Notably, India and England are set to take on each other in the first Test of the five-match series at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, starting on Wednesday, January 24.

The hosts India have announced their squad for the first two Tests of the series, with the uncapped star Dhruv Jurel in the final squad for the series against the Three Lions.

Here’s a look at India’s squad for the five-match Test Series:

Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, S Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), and Avesh Khan.

Featured Harry Brook India vs England Test Series