हिन्दी (Hindi)

India vs South Africa T20Is Series: Schedule, Squads, Where to watch, and Updates

By Alan

June 1, 2022

India will play South Africa in a five-match Twenty20 International series beginning on June 9, 2022. This is an important series for India since they are on the verge of breaking a world record. India has won 12 straight T20Is, matching Afghanistan’s record. If India defeats South Africa in the first T20I, they will make history.

Senior Indian players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the home games. Many young faces will get a chance to make their debut after a good Indian T20 League 2022. South Africa, on the other hand, has produced its strongest lineup for the series.

In the absence of some of the senior players, several familiar names will return to the Indian side, along with some debutants. KL Rahul has been appointed as the team’s captain, while Rishabh Pant will serve as his deputy. This series is a buildup to the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. Ahead of the series, here is all you need to know about it.

Schedule, Venues, and Time

1st T20i- 9th June 2022- 7 p.m. (IST)- Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

2nd T20i- 12th June 2022- 7 p.m. (IST)- Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

3rd T20i- 14th June 2022- 7 p.m. (IST)- Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam

4th T20i- 17th June 2022- 7 p.m. (IST)- Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

5th T20i- 19th June- 7 p.m. (IST)- M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore


India’s squad for the T20 series:

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

South Africa’s squad for the T20 series:

Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen

Where to watch

Live Telecast- Star Sports Network

Online- Disney+ Hotstar