Indian cricketers who have won the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Initiated in 1991/92, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the most noteworthy donning honor in India.

Bet Barter
New Update


Initiated in 1991/92, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the most noteworthy donning honor in India. Vishwanathan Anand was the first to get the honor in the year it was established for his accomplishments in Chess. From that point forward, 45 sportspeople from the nation got this honor for accomplishments in different games. There is a monotonous choice cycle for the equivalent. Out of the 45 sportspeople who got this honor to date, just 4 of them are cricketers.

Know the 4 cricketers who got this honor

1. Sachin Tendulkar | 1997/98

Sachin Tendulkar was the primary cricketer and the eighth sportsperson to get the renowned Khel Ratna Award. Despite the fact that he proceeded to win the Bharat Ratna later on, this honor will remain very uncommon. Till the finish of 1996, Sachin included in 180 worldwide matches. The 1996-99 periods were additionally when he was at his pinnacle and was breaking a few records.

Till the finish of 1996, the Master Blaster scored 7,929 global runs at a normal of 44. His most elevated score in those days was 179 and he enlisted 20 universal hundreds of years – 10 each in Test and ODI cricket. In addition, he likewise got 47 wickets with the ball.

2. MS Dhoni | 2007/08

It took a long 10 years gap before any cricketer wins the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award after Sachin Tendulkar. It is a matter of fact the incredible Indian captain MS Dhoni who got the honor. He drove India to the 2007 T20 World Cup win.

The wicket-guardian batsman was just about getting set up as a significant batsman in the group when he got this honor. From 2004 to the finish of 2007, MS Dhoni played 128 worldwide games and scored 4175 runs. He had four global hundreds of years to his name in those days.

3. Virat Kohli | 2018

Virat Kohli, 11 years after MS Dhoni getting the honor, was granted the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. When Virat got this honor, he was at that point viewed as truly outstanding on the planet, not at all like the past two who got the honor when they were simply beginning. Kohli began driving the Indian Cricket Team in each of the three configurations too.

Before the finish of 2017, Virat Kohli played a staggering 320 universal games. He scored 16,254 global runs including a high score of 243 and 52 centuries, all at a normal of almost 55. It was just barely that he got the honor for these staggering accomplishments.

4. Rohit Sharma | 2020

Rohit Sharma is the latest cricketer to have gotten the Khel Ratna. In the last six or seven years, Rohit Sharma has developed as one of the most significant individuals from the Indian group. He is indispensable in the ODI and T20I groups right now and has a decent record in Test cricket also.

2019 was probably the greatest year of Rohit Sharma's vocation. He struck five centuries in the World Cup 2019. He scored 2,442 runs in 47 worldwide games at a normal of 53 in the year. The 33-year-old even enrolled 10 centuries and 10 half-hundreds of years in 2019. Generally, till the finish of 2019, Rohit Sharma played 357 global games and scored 13,718 runs including 38 centuries.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Virat Kohli BCCI Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award MS Dhoni sachin tendulkar rohit sharma Indian cricket team