हिन्दी (Hindi)

Indian T20 League 2022: Prize money and the awards won by the players after the season

By Alan

May 30, 2022

The 15th season of the Indian T20 League has been won by Gujarat, who made their debut in the high octane tournament this year. The team wasn’t regarded as the favorites to win the title after the mega auction this year. The experts have termed the team as one of the best bowling attacks but weak in batting. However, the likes of Wriddhiman Saha, skipper Hardik Pandya, Abhinav Manohar, Rahul Tewatia, David Miller, etc proved everyone wrong

Miller scored 481 runs, Pandya got 487, Saha has 317 runs to their name while Tewatia has 217 runs to his name. Shubman Gill scored 483 runs opening the batting which made it easy for the team in the powerplay. Bowlers, on the other hand, did well as expected. Mohammed Shami took 20 wickets, Rashid Khan took 19, Lockie Ferguson took 12, and Yash Dayal took 11. These performances helped the team lift the title beating Rajasthan in the final.

In the final, the 2008 winners won the toss and elected to bat first given the scoreboard pressure in the second innings. The team had a nice start as they scored 60/1 at one stage. After skipper Sanju Samson’s wicket at this stage, the inning fell like a pack of cards. They finished at 130/9 with Jos Buttler (39) scoring the most runs in the innings.

In reply, the Hardik Pandya-led side chased down the total even after having a poor start. They had lost the wickets of Saha and Matthew Wade inside the powerplay. Gill would have been out either of two times when he was dropped twice during the innings. He played the anchor role and let the batters around him freely. Pandya and Miller played freely around the opening batter and never let the team get away from the target.

The Blue Brigade won the game by seven wickets. On the other hand, the plan of giving tribute late Shane Warne by Rajasthan team was diminished. They had won their only title under him in 2008.

Awards presented to the players after the Gujarat vs Rajasthan final

Super Striker of the match – David Miller

Game Changer of the match – Hardik Pandya

Most Sixes – Yashasvi Jaiswal

Power Player of the match – Trent Boult

Most Valuable asset of the match – Hardik Pandya

Fastest Delivery of the match – Lockie Ferguson

Most Fours – Jos Buttler

Player of the Match – Hardik Pandya

Awards after the season (The amount is in INR)

Emerging Player of Season – Umran Malik – 10 lakh

Sixes of the Season award – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Super Striker of the Season – Dinesh Karthik (Won Car)

Game Changer of the Season – Jos Buttler

Fairplay award – GT and RR

Power Player of the Season – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Fastest Delivery of Season – Lockie Ferguson – 10 lakh

Fours of the Season – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Most Wickets  – Yuzvendra Chahal – 10 lakh

Most Runs – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Best Catch of the Season – Evin Lewis – 10 lakh

Most Valuable Player – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh