हिन्दी (Hindi)

India’s squad for T20I series against South Africa and fifth Test match against England announced

By BetBarter Staff

May 22, 2022

The Indian squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against South Africa, and the fifth Test match against England have been announced. Notably, several top players have been rested for the T20I series, including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Shami.

Shikhar Dhawan was expected to lead the side in Rohit Sharma’s absence. However, KL Rahul has been named captain, while Dhawan was unable to gain a spot in the team. Some young players, on the other hand, have received their maiden international call-ups following outstanding performances in the Indian T20 League 2022. Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh, with their impressive quick bowling, have earned a spot in the team as well.

Kuldeep Yadav and Dinesh Karthik have also returned to the team. The two had breakthrough performances for their respective teams in the Indian T20 League, which has caught the eyes of the selectors.

While the selectors have also announced the Indian team that will travel to England for the fifth Test match, Rohit Sharma will lead the team in that series. The Asian side currently leads the series by 2-1. KL Rahul will be Sharma’s deputy in the final match. In a major development, Cheteshwar Pujara has made his way back to the team after a good run with Sussex in the County Cricket Championship.

India’s squad for the T20 series against South Africa

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

India’s squad for the Test match against England

Rohit Sharma (Capt), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna