‘Pehle ghar pe jeet lo uske baad catch up ki baatein karo’ – Fans troll Babar Azam as Wasim Akram says he is nearing league of modern day greats

By Daniel S

June 5, 2023

Former legendary Pakistan pacer Wasim Akram has come up with a big statement for Babar Azam while talking about his comparison with modern-day greats like Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Joe Root, and Kane Williamson. He felt that these four are already the ultimate icons of the game and at the level where they can be called ‘great’.

“Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Joe Root, and Kane Williamson are the legends of this era, they are the ultimate icons. Babar Azam is now catching up with these legends. Test cricket needs such icons and characters,” said Wasim Akram during a discussion on Star Sports ahead of the World Test Championship 2023 final between India and Australia.

Although Wasim Akram’s statement went on to put Babar Azam on the gaining end of some harsh trolls on the micro-blogging site Twitter. They trolled Babar for scoring only in home conditions and not winning the series as skipper even in the home conditions of Pakistan.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Speaking of the World Test Championship cycle 2021-23, the highly anticipated final clash and the big test, is all set to be played between India and Australia. Both teams will play this match at The Oval in London on the 7th of June, Wednesday.

Both the teams have announced their squads for the final amidst an injury-hit for Australia as the senior pacer Josh Hazlewood has been ruled out of the WTC 2023 final due to an injury.

Here’s a look at the squads of India and Australia for the World Test Championship 2023 final:


Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Michael Neser, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Josh Inglis, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

Standby – Mitch Marsh, Matt Renshaw


Rohit Sharma (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, KS Bharat, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadakt, Umesh Yadav.

Standby – Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav