Selection committee finalises interim chief, Chetan Sharma to be replaced soon

Following Chetan Sharma's step down from the chief selector position, the Indian Cricket Board has not yet found a replacement.

Daniel S
New Update
Chetan Sharma replacement yet to be found

Chetan Sharma replacement yet to be found (Source: Twitter)

The Indian Cricket Board announced it would replace Chetan Sharma during or after the Indian T20 League 2023. The former chief of the selection committee stepped down from his post after a recent sting operation where he revealed ‘too much’, including the use of ‘fake-fitness’ injections and power politics in the selection process.

Shiv Sundar Das will continue as the interim chief for the time being. However, with the Test Championships Final squad selection on the horizon during the Indian T20 League, the Indian Cricket Board will decide whether to appoint a new chairman or continue with the current composition of four selectors.

“SS Das will continue as the interim chairman for now. We will take a call on the 5th selector in due course. See, the squads for the Australia series are announced, and we have a two-month gap after that for Indian T20 League. We can take a call on that later during or before Indian T20 League for Test Championships,” a senior official from the Indian Cricket team said on Monday.

Need for an experienced Chetan Sharma replacement is apparent

The Cricket Board further faces a dilemma regarding appointing a new chairman. They are confused between recalling some of the shortlisted candidates from the last call for applications or relaunching a recruitment drive. One of the marquee names that stopped in the shortlisted position was former Indian speedster Venkatesh Prasad; he would have easily been the chief selector had he been selected.

The combined Test experience of the committee sits at just 25 currently, with 23 of them under SS Das’s belt. The need for an experienced replacement for Chetan Sharma is very evident in the current composition of the committee.

“There is no doubt we need a little more experience in the committee. But it’s not an ideal situation. We have to see what the CAC recommends. For the time being, the current panel will continue,” the Cricket India official added.

Here’s the current composition of the body:  

  • Shiv Sundar Das (Tests: 23, ODIs: 4, T20s: 3)
  • Subroto Banerjee (Tests: 1, ODIs: 6, First Class: 59)
  • Salil Ankola (Tests: 1, ODIs: 20, First Class: 54)
  • Sridharan Sharath (First Class: 139, List A: 116)
Cricket News Featured India Chetan Sharma