‘Sunn ke bohot bura laga bro’ – Fans react as Josh Hazlewood ruled out of the WTC 2023 final due to injury

By Daniel S

June 4, 2023

In a piece of shocking and disappointing news, the Australian side has faced an injury concern just ahead of the World Test Championship 2023 final. The senior pacer Josh Hazlewood has been ruled out of the title clash due to an injury. The star pace-bowling all-rounder Michael Neser will replace Hazlewood in the squad for the big Test against India.

Meanwhile, cricket fans on the micro-blogging site Twitter came up with a lot of reactions and responses to this news; some of the fans speculated the new dangers for Team India. Whereas a few of the fans went on to say that it would be a setback for the Aussies.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Notably India and Australia will lock horns in the World Test Championship 2023 final on the 7th of June, Wednesday at The Oval in London. Both teams had finished in the top two spots of the points table of the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle.

Both India and Australia have announced their 15-member squads alongside the standby players or the substitutes in the other than the 15.

Here’s a look at the updated squad of Australia after Josh Hazlewood got ruled out:

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, and David Warner.

Standby players: Mitch Marsh, and Matthew Renshaw.

Here’s a look at the India squad for the WTC 2023 final against Australia:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, KS Bharat, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadakt, and Umesh Yadav.

Standby players: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Both India and Australia have started their preparations for the upcoming coveted summit clash of the World Test Championship 2023.