हिन्दी (Hindi)

Suryakumar Yadav clarifies his tweet on Riyan Parag’s attitude

By Alan

May 26, 2022

In the first qualifier of the Indian T20 League 2022, Riyan Parag was involved in an unfortunate mixup with Ravichandran Ashwin. Parag tried to steal a single on a wide delivery on the last ball of the innings, but Ashwin completely denied it and the former was run-out on the non-striker’s end. Disappointed with Ashwin, Parag gave him a death stare. This did not sit well with the audience, who thought he was disrespecting his seniors.

Sometime later, a tweet from Suryakumar Yadav went viral on the internet. “Amazing attitude on the field #riyanparag #RRvGT,” he wrote in his tweet. The audience misinterpreted his tweet and slammed him for supporting the youngster. However, the star Mumbai player later clarified that the tweet was for his fielding and not his gesture toward’s Ashwin. “For his fielding last night guys Chill,” he wrote.

Here is Suryakumar’s tweet that went viral

Coming back to the match, Jos Buttler scored a brilliant half-century for the team. He scored 89 runs in 56 balls in the team’s total of 188. Sanju Samson (47 runs in 26 balls) and Devdutt Padikkal (28 runs in 20 balls) also played brilliant cameos batting first. In the chase, Gujarat lost a few wickets, but Hardik Pandya and David Miller’s brilliance kept them alive in the game. They built a 104-run partnership to advance to the final. Miller remained not-out on 68 runs in 38 balls, while Pandya scored 40 runs in 27 balls.

Rajasthan will now play against Bangalore in the second qualifier of the tournament at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on the 27th of May. On Wednesday, Bangalore beat Lucknow by 14 runs to book a spot in the second qualifier. The winner of the qualifier will advance to the final against Gujarat at the same venue on the 29th of May.

The tournament will be won by someone other than Mumbai and Chennai for the first time since 2016. Rajasthan won the championship once before in 2008, whereas Gujarat and Bangalore will compete for their maiden title.