'The rich are about to get richer' - Fans react to prize money of the Test Championship gets revealed

Cricket's governing body have announced the prize money for the second edition of the Test Championship that concludes in June

Daniel S
New Update
India and Australia

India and Australia (Source - Twitter)

The  Test Championship final featuring India and Australia is scheduled to take place at The Oval in England from June 7 to 11, with June 12 serving as a reserve day. The cricket governing body on Friday disclosed the prize money for the champions and runners-up. 

The Australia-India Test Championship final, according to the cricket governing body, will have a significant motivation for both sides because, in addition to winning the longest version of the game, the champions will also receive $1.6 million in prize money. The losers will receive $800,000 each.  The tournament's total purse of $3.8 million is the same as that of the championship's first iteration, the ICC World Test Championship 2019–21.

In addition to the dazzling Mace, the New Zealand team, led by Kane Williamson, received $1.6 million in Southampton two years back for defeating India by eight wickets in the six-day final. Each of the nine nations who took part in the World Test Championship 2021–2023 will receive a portion of the $3.8 million prize pool. By placing third on the World Test Championship 2021–23 standings, South Africa have received a sum of $450,000. With a dynamic playing style, England, which had a late comeback in the two-year cycle, finished fourth and received a $350,000 prize.

After losing the series in New Zealand, Sri Lanka, which was in contention to play in the championship, slipped to fifth position and their prize money allotment is $200,000 total. New Zealand, Pakistan, the West Indies, and Bangladesh, who finished sixth through ninth, will each receive $100,000.

How is Team India preparing for their Test Championship final?

Along with the support crew, led by coach Rahu Dravid, the first group of Indian players, comprising Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, and Umesh Yadav, have already arrived in England. The Indian cricket team's first practice took place on Thursday, with Dravid, batting coach Vikram Rathour, and trainer Soham Desai keeping close watch. Following the conclusion of IPL 2023, the remaining Indian cricketers, notably captain Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja, are scheduled to depart for England.  

Cheteshwar Pujara, the senior batter, has been playing county cricket in England for a brief period of time now. India will have a second opportunity to obtain the Test mace in as many editions with this attempt. Under Kohli's captaincy, they lost to New Zealand in the championship game of the previous edition.

Fans react to prize money of the Test Championship gets revealed : -

Cricket News