WATCH: Bangalore squad starts full-fledged net practice ahead of their first match in Women’s T20 League

By Daniel S

March 4, 2023

The Bangalore squad has started their full-fledged practice and are gearing up hard ahead of their tournament opener against Delhi in the Women’s T20 League 2023. The management has appointed star Indian batter Smriti Mandhana as the captain for the first-ever edition of the historic Women’s T20 League. Ben Sawyer will be there in the role of head coach for the team.

Recently, the franchise posted a video of their team’s net practice on their official Twitter handle with the caption, “Full squad practice ✅We’re ready for #WPL! #PlayBold #SheIsBold.”

Here’s the video:

Earlier the franchise revealed the official kit of the team including the photoshoot of captain Smriti Mandhana and other star players including the likes of Renuka Singh Thakur and foreign stars.

“Introducing our Bold and Stylish kit for #WPL2023! A huge shout out to our title sponsor @KajariaCeramic, our principal sponsors Mia by Tanishq, @Dream11, Vega Beauty, Himalaya Face Care and @pumacricket #PlayBold #SheIsBold,” read the caption of the tweet posted by Bangalore franchise.

Later on, they also updated the fans about the former Indian tennis legend Sania Mirza joining the Bangalore camp in the capacity of a mentor.

“And it’s our Mentor’s day out with the girls! Road to being mentally ready for the big game on Sunday is looking smoother by the day! #PlayBold #SheIsBold #WPL2023,” read the caption of the tweet displaying the pictures of Sania Mirza with Bangalore players.

Here’s a look at the squad of Bangalore for the Women’s T20 League 2023:

Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine, Heather Knight, Megan Schutt, Kanika Ahuja, Erin Burns, Dane van Niekerk, Preeti Bose, Komal Zanzad, Disha Kasat, Indrani Roy, Shreyanka Patil, Asha Shobana, Poonam Khemnar, Sahana Pawar, Richa Ghosh, Ellyse Perry, Renuka Singh.

Notably, Bangalore have never won a title in the men’s Indian T20 League since the inception of the tournament 15 years back in the year 2008. So, the women’s team will be eyeing on to win the first ever tournament in the inaugural edition of the tournament.