हिन्दी (Hindi)

Australia announce squads for Sri Lanka tour, Pat Cummins rested for T20I series

By Daniel S

April 29, 2022

In what comes as big news, Australia have announced their squads for the all-format tour of Sri Lanka. It is to be noted that the Aussie are all set to play in the emerald island in June-July later this year. As many as 34 players were named in the squads.

Australia are scheduled to play three T20Is, five ODI and two Tests. For which, they will have a close to the full-strength squad for all the games. The players who missed the white-ball games against Pakistan are back. The likes of Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade have returned to the limited-overs squads. However the notable name missing from the same is Adam Zampa.

The leggie will miss the Sri Lanka tour due to the impending birth of his first child. In the meanwhile, Pat Cummins has been rested for the three-match T20I series. Another notable exclusion is that of Ben McDermott, who scored his maiden hundred during the one-day series against Pakistan not too long ago.

As far as the red-ball squad is concerned, Marcus Harris couldn't find a place in the 16-man squad. Australia's Chairman of National Selectors George Bailey drew light on the squad that has been selected. He also stated that they thought about the ODI and T20 World Cups while picking the squad, as the major chunk of players in this side are going to feature in those tournaments.

“We were able to continue to build our depth with great white ball performances in Pakistan on the back of a superb Test Series. As selectors this has been one of the most rewarding parts amid the challenges of the past few years. These are very targeted to skill sets and what we see as the bulk of the squad for the home T20 World Cup and looking further forward to the ODI World Cup,” said George Bailey.

Australia T20 squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Australia ODI squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia Test squad:

Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner