Tamil Nadu qualify for Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-finals, reach knockouts after 7 years

Tamil Nadu have made it to the semi-final of the Ranji Trophy after a long wait of 7 years since they last qualified in the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 session.

Mathew K
New Update
R Sai Kishore, Ranji Trophy 2024 Quarter-Final (File Photo: X)

R Sai Kishore, Ranji Trophy 2024 Quarter-Final (File Photo: X)

Tamil Nadu registered a massive win by an innings and 33 runs against Saurashtra in the 3rd quarter-final of the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2024 to make it to the semi-final of the tournament. Notably, they have made it to the semi-final of the Ranji Trophy after a long wait of 7 years.

Tamil Nadu under the captaincy of star all-rounder R Sai Kishore completely outplayed the defending champions Saurashtra in the must-win quarter-final of the tournament. Skipper Sai Kishore led the team from the front with an exemplary performance both with the bat and the ball in the match.

He scalped a total of 9 wickets at the cost of 93 runs in the match, alongside 60 crucial runs, which he scored with the bat in the first innings for Tamil Nadu.

Saurashtra skipper Jaydev Unadkat won the toss and decided to bat first; batting first, Saurashtra failed to come strong against Tamil Nadu’s bowling attack; they were bundled out just at the score of 183 runs in the first innings. It was only the opener Harvik Desai who scored 83 runs off 185 balls with 10 fours and a six.

Saurashtra failed to crack the Tamil Nadu bowling code

Skipper R Sai Kishore claimed an amazing five-wicket haul for TN in the first innings, alongside 3 and 2 wickets bagged by Ajith Ram and Sandeep Warrier, respectively.

Batting in response to Saurashtra’s first-innings, Tamil Nadu posted a good total of 338 runs on the back of three half-centuries, scored by Sai Kishore, Baba Indrajith, and Boopathi Kumar.

Chirag Jani bagged three wickets for Saurashtra, alongside two wickets each picked by Jaydev Unadkat, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, and Parth Bhut. Besides these three, Yuvrajsinh Dodiya also claimed one wicket.

Later in the second innings, Saurashtra couldn’t cross the lead taken by Tamil Nadu as they were bundled out at the score of 122 runs in 75.4 overs. Tamil Nadu skipper Sai Kishore won the ‘Player of the Match award for his match-defining performance.

Featured Ranji Trophy R Sai Kishore