Top 3 teams with most appearance in Ranji Trophy finals, ft. Mumbai

Join us as we explore the top three teams with the most appearances in Ranji Trophy finals, with Mumbai leading the pack with an enviable record of success.

Mathew K
New Update
Most successful team in the Ranji Trophy

Most successful team in the Ranji Trophy (Source: Twitter)

Mumbai, synonymous with Ranji Trophy dominance, has clinched an impressive 47th appearance in the final of the 2023–24 season. With an unparalleled record of 41 titles, the Ajinkya Rahane-led squad showcased their cricketing prowess by securing a commanding victory over Tamil Nadu in the semi-final. The Bandra Kurla Complex witnessed Mumbai's signature brand of cricket as they triumphed by an innings and 70 runs, further solidifying their status as the most successful team in Ranji Trophy history.

This article delves into the remarkable journey of the prestigious tournament, highlighting the enduring legacy and unrivalled contribution of Indian domestic cricket. Join us as we explore the top three teams with the most appearances in Ranji Trophy finals, with Mumbai leading the pack with an enviable record of success.

#3. Bengal (15 times)


Bengal has a rich history in the Ranji Trophy, reaching the finals an impressive 15 times, including their latest appearance in 2023. However, their triumphs stand at two, with 13 runner-up finishes. This places Bengal alongside Delhi and just behind Mumbai, who have made it to the final 48 times.

Despite consistent appearances, Bengal's win percentage in the finals is the lowest among teams with at least ten final matches, standing at 13.33%. Last year, they faced a formidable Saurashtra in the finals, experiencing another close call in their pursuit of the prestigious Ranji Trophy. Bengal won Ranji titles in 1938–39 and 1989–90.

#2. Delhi (15 times)


Delhi, a cricketing powerhouse, boasts an impressive record in the Ranji Trophy with 15 final appearances. Notably, the national capital team clinched the prestigious title seven times, standing as the third-most successful team in the history of the tournament.

Renowned cricketers like Madan Lal, Mohinder Amarnath, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Ishant Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Shikhar Dhawan hail from Delhi, contributing significantly to the team's success. Delhi's first Ranji triumph was in 1978–79, and they secured their latest title in the 2007–08 season, showcasing the enduring cricketing legacy of the city and its consistent prowess in the premier domestic tournament.

#1. Mumbai (48 times)


Mumbai, a cricketing powerhouse in the Indian domestic circuit, has reached the Ranji Trophy finals an astonishing 48 times, showcasing its consistent excellence. With a rich legacy, Mumbai boasts an unmatched record of 41 titles, a testament to their cricketing prowess.

Since clinching their first trophy in 1934–35, Mumbai has been a dominant force, securing their last title in the 2015–16 season. No other team comes close to their remarkable achievement, highlighting their unparalleled success in Indian domestic cricket. Each season, Mumbai assembles a squad of formidable talent, aiming to extend their legacy by clinching yet another Ranji Trophy title.

Ranji Trophy mumbai delhi Bengal