'Ye sab Test cricket ki baddua hai' - Fans react as inaugural match of SA20 2024 gets abandoned due to rain without a ball being bowled

After the match ended up without any result, both the teams shared two points each and are currently at the same spot in the points table of the tournament.

Mathew K
New Update
SA20 2024 (File Photo: X)

SA20 2024 (File Photo: X)

The first day of the SA20 2024 was not one to be remembered by the cricket fans as the tournament opener between the Sunrisers Easter Cape and the Joburg Super Kings washed out without a ball being bowled. The heavy rain in Gqeberha couldn’t even allow a toss to be possible in the first match of the tournament.

The defending champions, Sunrisers Easter Cape and the semi-finalists of the first edition of the tournament in 2023, Joburg Super Kings were set to take on each other in the inaugural match of the second season.

Later, after the formal handshakes between the captains of both teams, both teams shared two points each and are currently sharing the same spot in the points table of the tournament. The fans were also waiting to see the former South Africa skipper and the star batter Faf du Plessis back in action after a long against his own Proteas teammate Aiden Markram.

But it couldn’t go possible as rain played a spoilsport to overshadow the excitement of SA20 2024’s start on Wednesday, January 10, 2024.

Meanwhile, a new rule has also been announced in the SA20 2024; according to this rule, the captains should be present with their two XI, one of batting first and another of bowling first at the time of toss; furthermore, they would have to present their XIs after winning the toss and deciding what they want to do first.

Here’s a look at the squads of both teams for the abandoned 1st match of SA20 2024: 

Joburg Super Kings (JSK):

Reeza Hendricks, Moeen Ali, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Madsen, Donovan Ferreira, Faf du Plessis (C), David Wiese, Lizaad Williams, Dayyaan Galiem, Kyle Simmonds, Sibonelo Makhanya, Leus du Plooy, Zahir Khan, Nandre Burger, Romario Shepherd, Sam Cook, Gerald Coetzee and Ronan Hermann.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape (SUNE):

Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan, Temba Bavuma, Sisanda Magala, Simon Harmer, Ayabulela Gqamane, Sarel Erwee, Adam Rossington, Patrick Kruger, Craig Overton, Daniel Worrall, Tom Abell, Aiden Markram (C), Ottniel Baartman, Brydon Carse, Beyers Swanepoel, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Andile Simelane, Jordan Hermann and Caleb Seleka.

Here’s how fans reacted after 1st match of SA20 2024 washed out: 

Featured Twitter Reactions SA20 SA20 2024