'Ye chamakne ka waqt hai bhai ab' - Fans react as Sarfaraz Khan gets his maiden Test call-up in Indian squad

Sarfaraz Khan recently scored a brilliant century in the second unofficial Test of the three-match series against England Lions just a couple of days ago.

Mathew K
New Update
Sarfaraz Khan (File Photo: X)

Sarfaraz Khan (File Photo: X)

Star uncapped Indian batter Sarfaraz Khan has finally made it to the Test squad of India; he has been named as a replacement for the star wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul in the upcoming second Test of the five-match series against England. India and England will take on each other in the second Test of the series.

KL Rahul complained of pain in the right quadriceps on the fourth day of the first Test of the five-match series against England, in Hyderabad.

Apart from that, star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has also been ruled out of the second Test due to the hamstring injury, which he sustained on the fourth day of the Hyderabad Test against the Three Lions.

Sarfaraz Khan smashed a century for India A against England Lions

Coming back to Sarfaraz, he recently scored a century for India A against England in the second unofficial Test of the three-match multi-day matches series against England Lions. Sarfaraz scored 161 runs off just 160 balls, hitting 18 fours and 5 sixes helping India A to win by an innings and 16 runs against the Lions.

The 26-year-old also won the ‘Player of the Match award for his match-defining knock of 161 runs in India A’s favour. He might replace KL Rahul in the middle-order in the playing XI of the second Test against the visitors in Vishakhapatnam.

Notably, the star Mumbai batter has constantly been in the headlines of both social and mainstream media for the last couple of days for getting ignored by selectors from the Test squad of India despite brilliant performances in First-Class cricket.

Here’s a look at India’s updated squad for the second Test against England:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar, and Sourabh Kumar.

Here’s how fans reacted to Sarfaraz Khan getting a Test call-up:




Sarfaraz Khan Featured Twitter Reactions India vs England