'Jao yrr Lahore Qalandar walo' - Fans react as defending champions face third successive defeat in PSL 2024, lose to Multan Sultans by 5 wickets

Multan Sultans have registered their third successive win in the ongoing Pakistan Super League 2024 with a five-wicket win over Lahore Qalandars.

Mathew K
New Update
Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans, Pakistan Super League 2024 (File Photo: X)

Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans, Pakistan Super League 2024 (File Photo: X)

Mohammad Riwan’s Multan Sultans at their home ground Multan Cricket Stadium in Multan, took on the defending champions Lahore Qalandars in the 7th match of the ongoing Pakistan Super League 2024. After facing two consecutive defeats, the visiting skipper Shaheen Afridi won the toss and decided to bat first against Rizwan’s men.

Batting first, the Qalandars didn’t have an expected start as they lost opener Sahibzada Farhan just in the second over at the team’s score of 3 runs. But then came a crucial partnership of 94 runs for the second wicket between Fakhar Zaman and Rassie van der Dussen.

Fakhar scored 41 runs off 36 balls, with 2 fours and 2 sixes, alongside Van der Dussen, who scored 54 runs off 37 balls, with 4 fours and 2 sixes on his credit. On the back of these knocks, Lahore Qalandars posted a respectable total of 166 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Mohammad Ali of Multan scalped 2 wickets, alongside one wicket each bagged by Abbas Afridi and Usama Mir.

Mohammad Rizwan leads the run-chase for Multan Sultans

While chasing the target, the Sultans’ skipper and star opener, Mohammad Rizwan played a brilliant knock of 82 runs off 59 balls, with 9 fours and 3 sixes. Besides him, David Willey also scored 25 runs off 23 balls, with a four and a six. Apart from these two, the decisive role was played by star all-rounder Iftikhar Ahmed who smashed 34 runs off just 11 balls, with 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Riding on these knocks, the Sultans managed to cross the line in 19 overs and won the match by 5 wickets, scoring 170 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. Skipper Rizwan won the ‘Player of the Match award for his match-defining and stand-alone knock of 82 runs in his side’s favour to win the match.

Skipper Shaheen Afridi, young pacer Zaman Khan, and George Linde picked one wicket each for Lahore Qalandars in the second innings.

The fans also came up with a lot of reactions after the defending champions faced their third consecutive defeat in the ongoing ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League.

Here’s how fans reacted to the Multan Sultans’ win against Lahore Qalandars:

Featured Pakistan Super League Multan Sultans Lahore Qalandars PSL 2024