'Kavya ji ke liye khushi hai' - Fans react as Sunrisers Eastern Cape register thumping win against Durban Super Giants by 89 runs to win SA20 for second time

It was Sunrisers Eastern Cape, who triumphed past strong-looking Durban Super Giants by 89 runs. With this win, SUNE have won the title for the second consecutive year.

Mathew K
New Update

Sunrisers Eastern Cape (Source: Twitter)

The SA20 2024 summit showdown took place between Sunrisers Eastern Cape (SUNE) and Durban’s Super Giants (DSG) at Cape Town's Newlands stadium on Saturday, February 10. Overcoming numerous challenges, both teams battled their way to the final, each determined to showcase their best performance and emerge victorious on a crucial day. But in the end, it was SUNE who triumphed past strong-looking DSG by 89 runs. With this win, SUNE have won the title for the second consecutive year.

The match commenced with Sunrisers Eastern Cape opting to bat first after winning the toss, a decision that proved to be astute in the SA20 2024 final. The team made a promising start with opener Jordan Hermann notching up 42 runs off 26 deliveries. However, Dawid Malan's innings were short-lived as he fell for just six runs to Reece Topley. Despite Malan's early departure, the top order showcased an impressive display, steering Sunrisers to a formidable total in the first innings. 

Moreover, Tom Abell contributed 55 runs, while skipper Aiden Markram remained unbeaten with 42 runs from 26 deliveries. Tristan Stubbs also made a valuable contribution, adding 56 runs as Sunrisers concluded their innings with a commanding total of 204 runs for the loss of only three wickets. In the first innings, the star South Africa spinner Keshav Maharaj emerged as the top wicket-taker for Durban’s Super Giants, claiming two wickets. In addition to it,  Reece Topley also chipped in with one wicket, being the only other bowler to make an impact.

Marco Jansen took fifer to seal the deal for SUNE

In their pursuit of chasing down a target of 205 runs, Durban’s Super Giants endured a disastrous start in the second innings. Openers Quinton de Kock and Matthew Breetzke were quickly dismissed, scoring just 3 and 18 runs, respectively. The troubles continued as JJ Smuts fell for a mere one run and Bhanuka Rajapaksa departed without scoring. Wiaan Mulder's innings in the middle order, where he amassed 38 runs from 22 deliveries, provided some stability.

However, the remaining batters failed to make significant contributions against Sunrisers’ formidable bowling attack. Marco Jansen emerged as the standout bowler in the second innings, claiming five wickets, while Ottniel Baartman and Daniel Worrall picked up two wickets each. Simon Harmer also chipped in with one wicket as Durban’s Super Giants were bowled out for just 115 runs. This comprehensive victory handed Sunrisers another SA20 title, winning by a margin of 89 runs.

 Let us look at how Twitter has reacted to this win from SUNE;









Aiden Markram SA20 2024