‘Wapsi Mubarak ho anna’ – Fans react as India pick veteran all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin in ODI World Cup 2023 reserves

By Daniel S

September 19, 2023

In a recent piece of news for Indian cricket fans, the selectors have picked the veteran all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin and young star Washington Sundar in the reserves in the Indian squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023 in their own backyard. Ashwin was in the headlines of both social and mainstream media after being overlooked by the selectors from the 15-member squad of the World Cup.

Just a few days after the announcement of the squad, the fans started speculating about his comeback in the ODI squad as the skipper Rohit Sharma also said about having Ashwin in the mix and the former was in touch with him over call. It all started happening when the star all-rounder Axar Patel complained of the niggles after the super-4 match against Bangladesh in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2023.

Meanwhile, the selectors also picked Ravichandran Ashwin in the Indian squad for the upcoming three-match home ODI series against Australia, starting with the first ODI on Friday, September 22 at the PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali.

Team India will be looking at this series as a keynote for their preparations ahead of the 13th edition of the marquee international tournament as it is being hosted by India after a wait of 12 years.

Here’s a look at the updated squad of Team India for the ODI World Cup 2023:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel*, Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Reserves – Ravichandran Ashwin and Washington Sundar 

India squad for the first two ODIs against Australia:

KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Prasidh Krishna.

India squad for the third ODI against Australia:

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj.

Here’s how fans reacted to the much-awaited comeback of Ravichandran Ashwin: