'Ye bhai ko khaali ye format he khilao' - Fans react as Suryakumar Yadav might lead India team during Australia T20I series

Given that Hardik Pandya is still recovering from his ankle injury, Suryakumar Yadav will be taking over the captaincy duties from him ahead of the 5-match T20I series against Australia.

Mathew K
Nov 20, 2023 21:11 IST
New Update
Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav will probably be named skipper for the T20I series versus Australia. It is given that Hardik Pandya's ankle injury is expected to keep him out of the game for an extended length of time. Just four days will pass after the World Cup final before the five-match home T20I series gets underway. The team would probably be revealed on Tuesday under the direction of Ajit Agarkar. 

Most of India's ODI World Cup 2023 team players will take time off from the T20I series, according to a report in the Indian Express. The Australians, will also miss the presence of regulars such as Pat Cummins, Mitchell Marsh, as well as Mitchell Starc, will face a second-string team captained by Suryakumar.

While he was away, Ruturaj Gaikwad's name was additionally being floated as a potential Australia T20I skipper. The right-hander will undoubtedly be in the team because he helped India win a gold medal during the Asian Games in Hangzhou in September, but Surya was an easy option for captain as the selectors were prepared to choose him. 

Since this year's beginning, Surya has served as Hardik's short form deputy. The Mumbai right-hander is now ranked No. 1 among batters and is the finest T20I batter in the world.

In addition to Surya, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, and Shardul Thakur are the other three members of the World Cup team who are probably going to play in the Australia T20Is. 

Bowling department for India-Australia series

Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah are all expected to take a rest, thus Krishna will probably spearhead the speed assault during the Australia series. Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, and Umran Malik will be with him.

Yuzvendra Chahal as well as Ravi Bishnoi will head the spin department, alongside Shahbaz Ahmed taking over and the fit-again Axar Patel substituting Ravindra Jadeja. It is almost a given that Tilak Varma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube, and Rinku Singh will remain in their positions, and Sanju Samson will return.

Fans react as Suryakumar Yadav might lead India team during Australia T20I series: -

#Cricket News #Featured #India #Suryakumar Yadav #Australia